Bluetooth Filter Driver for DS3-compatibility - research notes

• How future proof is this filter solution? Do you think it is possible for Windows to make such a change in a update that could break it or you think that is unlikely or just straight up impossible unless windows change in a fundamental way?

Sorry if this is no place to ask or if my question does not make much sense. I am no developer/coder in any meaningful way, but I know just enough about coding to understand your posts here and I find it really interesting to know how this actually works. I would really appreciate to hear your thoughts on this with some insight on why and how windows could or couldn't break this in the near future.
    Also, thanks for your work on the ScpToolKit and on maintaining this posts on the development! I find myself refreshing this page many times a day just to see your explanations on how you are making your way through this.

• @kirian said in Bluetooth Filter Driver for DS3-compatibility - research notes:

How future proof is this filter solution? Do you think it is possible for Windows to make such a change in a update that could break it or you think that is unlikely or just straight up impossible unless windows change in a fundamental way?

Heya! This is actually the most future-proof you can get. Apart from the filter driver which proxies the forbidden PSMs the profile/bus driver uses a standard DDI (Device Driver Interface) provided by Microsoft which exists since (at least) Windows XP and is documented fairly well (see here and here). Microsoft is the grand master of backwards compatibility so I expect this to last quite a fair bit without the need of updates once it's deemed stable.

@kirian said in Bluetooth Filter Driver for DS3-compatibility - research notes: